Malaga Province Representative Team 2023

The Malaga Province Representative Team , colloquially known as Team Malaga, is the equivalent of a UK County side. Spain is split into Autonomous regions, which in turn are split into Provinces. The region of Andalucía plays bowls in 3 of its Provinces - Almeria, Huelva and Malaga.

V Andalusian Inter-Provincial Championships - February 2023
Introduced in 2018 when Almeria decided to create a Provincial team, the Inter-Provincial Championships was originally an annual event but after the first fixture both teams enjoyed it so much a rematch was immediately arranged and in 2020 it wasagreed to play it twice a year.
In 2023 Malaga is hosting the February match while Almeria host the October match.
Malaga are current holders of the Trophy having won all of the previous Matches by the tightest of margins.

The Almeria Province Team Manager has asked that the format of the matches be altered again this year as they have once again more available bowlers following a temporary slump in 2022. Squads therefore will consist of 14 Men and 14 Women this year.
Session 1: 3 x Four’s matches and 1 Singles match.
Session 2: 1 Pairs, 1 Triples and 2 x Fours matches.
Sessions reversed on day 2.
The Pairs, Triples and Singles team to be different for each of the 2 days.
The Team Managers will try to ensure that no two 4’s team plays against each other more than once.
(With the understanding that where teams are changed some players may have been in a different team which would not necessarily be able to avoid clashes)

Malaga Squad For Match v Almeria 2023 - V Andalusian Inter-Provincial Championship

With Malaga Manager, Bill Davies temporarily sidelined due to illness, Malaga Delegate Ron Jones announced the squad and said "Our squad gets stronger every year and I am confident our successful run in this Competition will continue"

Men Ladies
Juan Abeal Pat Baker
Mick Ansted Mary Dethridge
Nick Cummins Hazel Guttridge
Allen Gateshill Jan Haywood
Paul Hughes Chris Jewson
Craig Lewis Sue Jones
Bill Neal Barbara Land
Mike Old Isabel McCarlie
Laurie Passman Nina McKenzie
Jeff Rowe Kathy Middleton
Julian Thomas Jenny Parkin
Jeff Turner Jane Richardson
John Wilson Janis Rowe
Trevor Burgin Margaret Woodin